Managing PCoIP Management Console Logs

The PCoIP Management Console VERSION page displays the version of the PCoIP Management Console that you are currently running, and also lets you select the level of diagnostic logging for the PCoIP Management Console. You can access this page by clicking SETTINGS from the PCoIP Management Console’s top menu and then clicking the VERSION menu in the left pane.

Note: Release version can be viewed on dashboard

The PCoIP Management Console release version is also displayed on the dashboard.

Locating the PCoIP Management Console’s Log Files

All PCoIP Management Console logs are located in the PCoIP Management Console’s virtual machine in its /opt/teradici/log directory. You can access these files by logging in to your PCoIP Management Console virtual machine console using vSphere Client. Log files are included in database archives.

The PCoIP Management Console’s log directory contains the following files:

  • console.log: Logs information about the PCoIP Management Console’s front-end console. In this release, its level is set to Info and cannot be changed.

  • daemon.log: Logs information about the PCoIP Management Console’s back-end daemon. You can set a diagnostic log level for the PCoIP Management Console 2’s daemon process.

  • daemon-startup.log: Logs information about when the PCoIP Management Console’s daemon starts up or stops.

  • daemon.log.< date >.gz: Contains a gzip archive file for any daemon.log file that has reached 100 MB. These files are zipped to save space on the virtual machine.

Log File Rotation

Both console and daemon logs are limited to 200 files—two uncompressed (up to 100 MB each) and 98 compressed (approximately 5 MB each). These files are rotated as needed.

Linux system logs are rotated using default CentOS settings. The PCoIP Management Console does not configure Linux system logs.

Setting the PCoIP Management Console’s Diagnostic Log Level

The PCoIP Management Console has five log levels that you can set. Troubleshooting an issue requires capturing all the details of an event in both the daemon and console logs. This is why setting the level for either daemon or the console adjusts both logs to the same level. The five log levels are:

  • ERROR: Only logs error messages. Error messages are logged events that occurred that were not supposed to have occurred.

  • WARN: Only logs warning messages. Warning messages are logged events that may cause an issue in the future.

  • INFO: Logs informational messages and events at a coarse-grained level.

  • DEBUG: Logs deeper information that is useful for a debug application to troubleshoot.

  • TRACE: Logs finer-grained informational messages and events. Trace should only be used under the direction of Teradici support for debugging issues.